FIFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COMMUNITY CRIMINAL JUSTICE BOARD

Members: Chief Judge of the Fifth Judicial Dt. Circuit Court or designee

Chief Judge of the Fifth Judicial Dt. General District Court or designee

Chief Judge of the Fifth Judicial Dt. J & DR Court or designee

Chief Magistrate

Chiefs of Police – Cities of Suffolk & Franklin with two (2) year rotating terms Sheriffs for City of Suffolk & Isle of Wight with two (2) year rotating terms Commonwealth's Attorney for four (4) jurisdictions or their designees Public Defenders for Suffolk, Isle of Wight, Franklin/Southampton

Administrator of Western Tidewater Regional Jail & Southampton Jail (Sheriff)

Superintendents of Schools of four (4) jurisdictions or their designees

Executive Director of the Western Tidewater Community Services Board or designees

City Managers of Suffolk & Franklin or designees

County Administrators of Isle of Wight and Southampton or designees

One citizen appointed by each of the four (4) jurisdictions

Type: Statutory board established pursuant to Virginia Code Section 9.1-178 and by resolution

of cities and counties (Franklin resolution – 11/27/95).

Meets: Variable as determined by board.

Term: Congruent with term of office. Citizen member is for term set by Council.

Duties: Advises on development and operation of pretrial services and community based

probation programs, assists agencies in establishing and modifying programs and

services for offenders and evaluating same, develops and maintains criminal justice plan

and community based correction plans.

Citizen Member: for a term ending on _____.